Thursday, July 29, 2010

Fast times for women winners in Milo GenSan

It was the women's turn to register fast times in this year's edition of the Milo Marathon regional elimination race held last Sunday, July 25, in General Santos City.

Cebu’s running queen Mary Grace Delos Santos sliced some three minutes off her personal 21K record to top the race with a 1:21.15 finish. She came in 4th place overall.

Mary Grace delos Santos, her face bloodied after getting hit by a motorcycle in a road accident, finishes first in the women’s 21K race in the Mindanao eliminations of the Milo Marathon in 2008.( PHOTO FROM SUN.STAR CAGAYAN DE ORO, CEBURUNNING.COM)

Monaliza Ambasa was second at 1:30, faster than the 1:31:15 she turned in when she ruled last year's race, while Liza Jaro did a repeat of her third place finish last year but with a faster finishing time of 1:34:51. Jaro clocked 1:40:42 in last year's race.

The country's best time for 21K is held by two-time Milo national marathon champion Jho-an Banayag, who ran the half marathon distance in 1:20 in Davao City.

In contrast, the men's finishing times this year were slower than last year's. Davao City Joselito Dugos took first with a time of 1:13:07 while Elmer Bartolo, another prominent figure in Cebu’s running scene was second, clocking 1:13:53. Gerald Sabal came in third at 1:14:50.

Bartolo was also second in last year's Milo Marathon eliminator in the country's tuna capital but turned in a faster finishing time of 1:13:11. Junel Buncit of Tagum ruled the men's race last year with a blazing 1:11:11 finish. Brian Lupo who took third place also registered a fast 1:13:44.

Last year's race also saw 4th place finisher Gilbert Maluyo of Kidapawan City barge into the national finals after clocking 1:14:37 to beat the 1:15:00 qualifying time.

No comments: